Saturday, July 5, 2008

Tennis Question

We've been watching a lot of tennis since our satellite arrived, and I've noticed something I hope you all can help me with:

Why, as players advance rounds, do they continue wearing the same outfits?

I'm sure they wash them, so it's not a hygiene issue, but is it for luck? Superstition? I know it can't be a rule. You must wear the same outfit for the duration of Wimbledon so we can keep track of everyone. Nadal even wore the same green outfit two tournaments in a row. (He looked very nice in it, so I'm not complaining. Just curious.)

Anyone have any insight?

8 comments:

spyscribbler said...

Well, that's weird. That's really odd. I haven't a single theory on it.

WendyCinNYC said...

Maybe if they win wearing the outfit, it is thus considered lucky and must not be changed until the tournament ends.

I dunno.

Did you watch Venus and Serena today?

Capt Gary Hooyenga said...

It is a luck thing. But think it is "their" look! Bet they have several sets of the same outfit.

Melanie Avila said...

I guessed luck, too.

Wendy, we saw midway through the second set and had to leave. They replayed it tonight, I watched to the same point and had to leave again. By the time we got home it was over again.

I JUST saw the results. I'm looking forward to tomorrow. Ibis hates Nadal and I think he's foxy. Love those arms. ;)

Jes said...

I haven't been able to watch Serena or Venus play tennis with a straight face since Jim Norton said that watching Lex Steele perform on screen was like, "watching the William's sisters play tennis in a closet." He's ruined the sport for me...I'm going to go watch soccer now :D

Melanie Avila said...

OMG, that's hilarious.

I'm watching the same part of the women's final AGAIN because the men's is in a rain delay. I could talk along with the commentators at this point!

Kristine said...

I'm guessing for luck, also. You said Nadal was wearing green? That's odd, I thought it was a rule that everyone must wear white at Wimbledon. Hurray for Nadal, FINALLY!

Melanie Avila said...

No, he wore green two tournaments in a row, one of which was Rolling Garrows (or however that's spelled).

Yay for Nadal!